Cut Out to Run Her Own Business

January-022Previously, in my blog post entitled, “Networking Works“, I talked about taking advantage of opportunities that present themselves to promote your business, using myself as the example. In a conversation with my hairdresser Serena, I talked about my blog and wanting to do interviews with local small businesses. Serena kindly offered to meet with me and discuss her business.

Yesterday, I met with Serena and we talked about her business. Serena runs a hair salon called “Hair by Serena” out of her home in Edmonton.

The main things Serena has going for her business  (in my estimation) are:

  • She is a pleasure to be a round as she is always bubby and upbeat
  • She listens to her clients and gives suggestions
  • Her rates are reasonable
  • She is good at what she does

These are all key factors that can help determine the success or failure of a business. Value and Quality for money. Someone who actually listens to their clients and their needs, and knows what she is doing.

When meeting with Serena I was able to ask her the following questions:

Why did you start your own business?

I started my own business because the salon where I was working suddenly closed down and I realized this was my chance to do it. I always wanted to start my own business because I wanted the freedom.

How long have you been in business?

Over the past 10 years, I have always worked on the side trying to make extra money but I have been full time on my own for a year now.

What is one tip you would be willing to share with other small business owners?

Don’t be afraid to fail. I think that was why it took me ten years to do it.

What are some of your challenges you face as a small business owner?

One of the challenges I face is having to do everything myself. I cannot afford to hire anyone to help nor do I have the funds to expand my business.

Sometimes circumstances force us into taking that giant leap into the business world and overcoming our fears of failure. Although it is challenging, Serena loves the freedom of being able to set her own hours.

One of the reasons I started this blog was to be able to help people like Serena succeed. She mentioned she had read my blog on “Should You Be a Sole Proprietor or Incorporate Your Business?” and that she had found some interesting information in the article that she hadn’t considered before. Mission accomplished.

We had such a great time yesterday talking about her business and brainstorming ideas on how to increase her customer base. Some of these ideas I will share in an upcoming blog.

Until the next time,

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

